This section is not ready yet — it arrives in stage 4.

This section is not ready yet — it arrives in stage 4.

Language

WhiteBIT

Centralized exchange
whitebit.comOrdinary link, no referral fee
Spot fee
0.1%
Coins with a halal verdict
3
of those listed here
Available in
17 of 20
countries we track
Checked
Sep 27, 2026

Reliability

5.7/ 10

Score updated

  • Proof of reserves5.0
  • Licences6.0
  • Incident history9.0
  • Segregation of funds5.0
  • Insurance fund0.0
  • Security practices7.0

Liberandum halal verdict

Suitable with care

Not suitableSuitable

WhiteBIT is a large European exchange with no reported hacks and a MiCA authorisation for its EU arm since June 2026. Its spot market allows full-settlement trading, but it has no Shariah-certified product and no Shariah screening of coins, and it also sells margin, futures and interest-bearing crypto lending that a Muslim investor must avoid.

Use

  • Spot trading
  • Coins checked halal on Liberandum

Avoid

  • Margin, Borrow, futures
  • Crypto Lending (Earn)
More details

Spot trading on WhiteBIT settles immediately, which is consistent with the requirement of immediate exchange of crypto-assets in AAOIFI Shariah Standards No. 1 and No. 20. The exchange also offers margin trading and borrowing with a daily fee on borrowed funds (0.0585 % per day on the fees page), perpetual futures and crypto lending plans under its Earn section. Margin, futures and options fail the settlement and gharar conditions, and fixed-yield lending is riba, so these must not be used. WhiteBIT has no Islamic account, no Shariah-certified earn product and no Shariah screening of its catalogue: each coin has to be checked separately on Liberandum. Reliability is moderate (5.7 of 10). Positives: we found no reported hack since its 2018 launch; by the exchange's own statement (April 2026) about 96 % of user assets are in cold wallets and it holds CCSS Level 3 certification and an AAA rating from CER.live; WB-Shields Innovations GmbH (WhiteBIT EU) is on ESMA's MiCA register, authorised by Austria's FMA on 18 June 2026; and WhiteBIT obtained a broker licence from the National Bank of Georgia (April 2026). Weaknesses: the latest public proof of reserves we could find is a single Hacken snapshot from November 2024, segregation of client assets is not independently confirmed for the global platform, and no user protection fund is disclosed. The global User Agreement excludes US residents and sanctioned or FATF-blacklisted countries; US users are served by the separate WhiteBIT US (launched December 2025), UK users by whitebit.uk (launched May 2026) and EEA users by WhiteBIT EU.

How to use WhiteBIT the halal way

What is allowed and what to avoid on this exchange

  • Allowed

    Spot

    Settles in full immediately

  • Allowed

    Convert

    Instant swap, settles like spot

  • With care

    Staking

    No Shariah-certified staking

  • Avoid

    Savings and Earn

    Crypto Lending pays fixed or flexible interest

  • Avoid

    Margin

    Margin and Borrow charge a daily fee

  • Avoid

    Futures and options

    Perpetual futures contracts

  • Avoid

    Loans

    Borrowing with a daily interest fee

  • Avoid

    Structured products

    Fixed return, not certified

No dedicated halal product

WhiteBIT offers no Islamic (swap-free) account and no Shariah-certified earn or staking product as of September 2026. Its Earn section consists of Crypto Lending plans with fixed or flexible interest, which are interest-bearing and not suitable.

No token screening

WhiteBIT does not screen listed tokens for Shariah compliance and publishes no Shariah-screened catalogue. Its normal listing review is not Shariah screening, so each coin must be checked on Liberandum before buying.

Step by step

How to trade halal on WhiteBIT

  1. Create an account and pass KYC

    Register on whitebit.com (or whitebit.eu if you live in the EEA) and complete identity verification with an ID document and a selfie. Turn on two-factor authentication in the security settings.

  2. Deposit without interest products

    Use Deposit in your Balance to send crypto or add fiat. Do not move the deposit into Earn or Crypto Lending: fixed and flexible lending plans pay interest, which is riba.

  3. Check the coin on Liberandum first

    WhiteBIT does not screen coins for Shariah compliance. Before buying, check the coin's halal status on Liberandum and skip coins marked not halal or doubtful.

  4. Buy on the Spot market only

    Open Trade and choose the spot market, then place a limit or market order. Spot orders settle in full immediately, which meets the immediate-exchange condition of AAOIFI Shariah Standard No. 20.

  5. Avoid margin, futures and leverage

    Do not use Margin trading or Borrow (borrowed funds with a daily fee), Futures or perpetual contracts, or any leveraged product. These fail the settlement and gharar conditions.

  6. Withdraw to self-custody

    For long-term holding, withdraw coins from Balance to a wallet you control. WhiteBIT charges the withdrawal fee shown on the withdrawal screen.

Availability

Where WhiteBIT serves users and under which licence

Choose your country

Choose your country to see availability

  • AEUnited Arab EmiratesAvailable

    No local licence found (no VARA licence); served by the global WhiteBIT platform, whose User Agreement does not exclude the UAE

  • SASaudi ArabiaAvailable

    No local licence; served by the global WhiteBIT platform, whose User Agreement does not exclude Saudi Arabia

  • QAQatarAvailable

    No local licence; not excluded by WhiteBIT's User Agreement, but check local rules on crypto trading

  • KWKuwaitAvailable

    No local licence; served by the global WhiteBIT platform, whose User Agreement does not exclude Kuwait

  • BHBahrainAvailable

    No local licence; served by the global WhiteBIT platform, whose User Agreement does not exclude Bahrain

  • OMOmanAvailable

    No local licence; served by the global WhiteBIT platform, whose User Agreement does not exclude Oman

  • JOJordanAvailable

    No local licence; served by the global WhiteBIT platform, whose User Agreement does not exclude Jordan

  • EGEgyptAvailable

    No local licence; not excluded by WhiteBIT's User Agreement, but check local rules on crypto trading

  • MAMoroccoAvailable

    No local licence; not excluded by WhiteBIT's User Agreement, but check local rules on crypto trading

  • TRTürkiyeRestricted

    No Capital Markets Board licence confirmed; WhiteBIT was reported in 2024 as a licence applicant included in the CMB registry

  • IDIndonesiaAvailable

    No local licence; served by the global WhiteBIT platform, whose User Agreement does not exclude Indonesia

  • MYMalaysiaAvailable

    No local licence; served by the global WhiteBIT platform, whose User Agreement does not exclude Malaysia

  • PKPakistanAvailable

    No local licence; served by the global WhiteBIT platform, whose User Agreement does not exclude Pakistan

  • BDBangladeshAvailable

    No local licence; not excluded by WhiteBIT's User Agreement, but check local rules on crypto trading

  • KZKazakhstanAvailable

    No local licence confirmed; an AIFC in-principle approval was reported in December 2024. Served by the global platform

  • UZUzbekistanAvailable

    No local licence; served by the global WhiteBIT platform, whose User Agreement does not exclude Uzbekistan

  • NGNigeriaAvailable

    No local licence; served by the global WhiteBIT platform, whose User Agreement does not exclude Nigeria

  • GBUnited KingdomRestricted

    Only via the dedicated whitebit.uk platform (launched May 2026); its promotion was approved by an FCA-authorised firm, WhiteBIT's own FCA status not stated

  • USUnited StatesRestricted

    Global platform excludes US residents; the separate WhiteBIT US (launched December 2025) offers spot only; its licences are not specified

  • EUEuropean UnionAvailable

    WB-Shields Innovations GmbH (WhiteBIT EU), MiCA CASP authorised by Austria's FMA on 18 June 2026 and passported across the EEA via whitebit.eu

Presence by country

  • AEUnited Arab EmiratesServed by the global platform; no VARA licence found.Available
  • SASaudi ArabiaServed by the global platform; no local licence.Available
  • TRTürkiyeReported in 2024 as a Capital Markets Board licence applicant; no licence confirmed.Restricted
  • KZKazakhstanServed by the global platform; an AIFC in-principle approval was reported in December 2024, no final licence confirmed.Available
  • IDIndonesiaServed by the global platform; no Bappebti or OJK licence found.Available
  • MYMalaysiaServed by the global platform; not a Securities Commission Malaysia registered exchange.Available
  • PKPakistanServed by the global platform; no local licence.Available
  • UZUzbekistanServed by the global platform; no NAPP licence found.Available
Show 1 more
  • NGNigeriaServed by the global platform; no SEC Nigeria licence found.Available

Reliability in detail

Overall 5.7 of 10

  • Proof of reserves

    5.0

    Hacken proof-of-reserves audit dated 18 November 2024 (report 20 November 2024) with liability verification and a Merkle root, reporting 1:1 coverage of in-scope assets and a 238 % total collateral ratio. It is a one-off snapshot, and we found no newer or monthly report as of September 2026.

  • Licences

    6.0

    MiCA CASP authorisation for WB-Shields Innovations GmbH (WhiteBIT EU) from Austria's FMA, 18 June 2026, on ESMA's register and passported across the EEA; broker licence from the National Bank of Georgia (April 2026). WhiteBIT US says it holds US operational licences but does not name them. No VARA, MAS or FCA licence found.

  • Incident history

    9.0

    We found no reported hack or withdrawal freeze since launch in 2018, and no regulator fines or sanctions against WhiteBIT.

  • Segregation of funds

    5.0

    The PoR snapshot checks user liabilities against reserves, and the MiCA entity is subject to EU custody rules, but segregation of client assets on the global platform is not confirmed by an independent audit.

  • Insurance fund

    0.0

    No dedicated user protection or insurance fund with disclosed size or addresses was found as of September 2026.

  • Security practices

    7.0

    By the company's own statement (April 2026): about 96 % of user assets in cold wallets, CCSS Level 3 certification and an AAA rating from CER.live; 2FA available. No SOC 2 or ISO 27001 report was found.

Fees

Spot trading, deposits and withdrawals

Spot trading

0.1% maker · 0.1% taker

Base spot fee 0.1 % maker and taker (can vary for some pairs). Holding WBT gives maker and taker discounts (up to 100 % on maker fees at higher levels).

Deposits

Crypto deposits are generally free apart from the network cost. WhiteBIT says it supports 8 fiat currencies; fees depend on the fiat method and currency.

Withdrawals

Crypto withdrawals carry a per-coin fee shown on the withdrawal screen; fiat withdrawal fees vary by method. The full list is on the fees page (not independently checked for each coin).

Halal coins you can buy on WhiteBIT

Coins with a halal verdict listed on this exchange

Similar exchanges

Other large exchanges from our coverage