This section is not ready yet — it arrives in stage 4.

This section is not ready yet — it arrives in stage 4.

Language

Pionex

Centralized exchange
pionex.comOrdinary link, no referral fee
Spot fee
0.05%
Coins with a halal verdict
2
of those listed here
Available in
16 of 20
countries we track
Checked
Sep 27, 2026

Reliability

4.0/ 10

Score updated

  • Proof of reserves5.0
  • Licences5.0
  • Incident history6.0
  • Segregation of funds1.0
  • Insurance fund0.0
  • Security practices4.0

Liberandum halal verdict

Not suitable

Not suitableSuitable

Pionex offers low-fee spot trading and spot grid bots, but its global platform is run by an offshore operator without a licence in the markets it serves, it has regulator warnings in Malaysia and France, and it does not disclose segregation or a protection fund. Its reliability score is below 5, so Liberandum does not recommend it for Muslim investors as of September 2026.

Use

  • Spot trading and spot grid/DCA bots
  • Coins rated halal on Liberandum

Avoid

  • Futures, leveraged tokens, margin bots
  • Dual investment, fixed savings
More details

Spot trading on Pionex settles immediately, which fits the AAOIFI requirement of hand-to-hand exchange (Shariah Standard No. 1 on currency trading and No. 20 on commodities). Spot grid and DCA bots only place spot orders, so they do not change the ruling of the underlying trades, although the user remains responsible for the coins traded. Much of the platform, however, is built around products that fail Shariah screening: futures and futures grid bots, leveraged tokens, margin-style bots, dual investment and fixed savings products that pay a pre-set yield (riba). Pionex has no Islamic account, no Shariah-certified earn product and no Shariah screening of listed tokens. Reliability is the main concern. The global site pionex.com is operated by Marketa Trading Inc., with disputes resolved by ICC arbitration in Belize; the terms of service do not claim segregation of client assets and allow custody with external providers without responsibility for their losses. Pionex offers a Merkle-tree proof of reserves; an agreed-upon-procedures review by Elite Partners and Moore was reported to show over 100 % coverage of BTC, ETH, USD and stablecoins, but no regular monthly attestation was found. Group entities hold real licences elsewhere: Pionex Inc. holds US state money-transmitter licences (NMLS 2284360) for a separate US app, and Pionew Ireland Limited is a MiCA-authorised CASP of the Central Bank of Ireland, passported to France, serving the EU under the Webot brand. At the same time, the Securities Commission Malaysia placed Pionex on its Investor Alert List (reported January 2023, listed again as at 12 January 2026), the French AMF blacklisted pionex.com on 10 April 2025, and in May 2025 Pionex Inc. signed a consent order with four US states (Nebraska, North Carolina, Ohio, South Dakota) over Funds Transfer Rule, recordkeeping and information-security failures and earlier unlicensed transmission, with a $20,000 penalty. No reserve or protection fund is disclosed. The combined reliability score is 4.0 out of 10. The global platform is closed to the US, UK, Canada, Mainland China, Hong Kong, Singapore, Netherlands, Spain, France and sanctioned countries. Users in Gulf states, Turkey, Pakistan, Indonesia and Nigeria are not on the restricted list, but no local licence was found there. Users who already hold funds on Pionex should trade only spot, avoid all yield and derivative products and keep long-term holdings in self-custody.

How to use Pionex the halal way

What is allowed and what to avoid on this exchange

  • Allowed

    Spot

    Settles immediately; grid/DCA bots place only spot orders

  • Allowed

    Convert

    Instant swap, settles like spot

  • With care

    Staking

    No Shariah-certified staking

  • Avoid

    Savings and Earn

    Dual investment, fixed savings, preset yield

  • Avoid

    Margin

    Margin-style bots use borrowed funds

  • Avoid

    Futures and options

    Futures and futures grid bots

  • Avoid

    Loans

    Borrowing on interest

  • Avoid

    Structured products

    Dual investment, preset yield

No dedicated halal product

Pionex has no Islamic (swap-free) account and no Shariah-certified earn or staking product as of September 2026. Its yield products (dual investment, fixed savings) pay a pre-set return and are not certified by any Shariah board, so they should be avoided.

No token screening

Pionex does not screen listed tokens for Shariah compliance. Its normal listing review is not a Shariah screen, so users must check each coin's status on Liberandum before buying.

Step by step

How to trade halal on Pionex

  1. Create an account and pass KYC

    Register on pionex.com (only if your country is not on the restricted list) and complete identity verification. Enable 2FA with an authenticator app.

  2. Fund with crypto, not interest products

    Pionex has limited fiat on-ramps, so most users deposit crypto from another wallet. Keep funds in the spot account and do not move them into Earn, fixed savings or dual investment, which pay a pre-set yield.

  3. Trade on Spot only

    Use Trade > Spot with full settlement. Spot grid and DCA bots are acceptable only because they place spot orders. Avoid Futures, futures grid bots, leveraged tokens and any margin or leveraged bot.

  4. Check each coin on Liberandum

    Pionex does not screen tokens for Shariah compliance. Before buying or adding a coin to a bot, check its halal status on Liberandum; avoid lending, gambling and interest-bearing tokens.

  5. Withdraw to self-custody

    Because the global operator is unlicensed and does not disclose asset segregation, keep only trading balances on Pionex and withdraw long-term holdings to your own wallet.

Availability

Where Pionex serves users and under which licence

Choose your country

Choose your country to see availability

  • AEUnited Arab EmiratesAvailable

    No local licence found; served by Marketa Trading Inc. (global operator). No VARA or ADGM authorisation found.

  • SASaudi ArabiaAvailable

    No local licence; served by Marketa Trading Inc.

  • QAQatarAvailable

    No local licence; served by Marketa Trading Inc. Qatar Central Bank does not license crypto exchanges.

  • KWKuwaitAvailable

    No local licence; served by Marketa Trading Inc.

  • BHBahrainAvailable

    No local licence; served by Marketa Trading Inc.

  • OMOmanAvailable

    No local licence; served by Marketa Trading Inc.

  • JOJordanAvailable

    No local licence; served by Marketa Trading Inc.

  • EGEgyptAvailable

    No local licence; served by Marketa Trading Inc.

  • MAMoroccoAvailable

    No local licence; served by Marketa Trading Inc.

  • TRTürkiyeAvailable

    No local licence; no Capital Markets Board (SPK) authorisation found.

  • IDIndonesiaAvailable

    No local licence; no OJK registration found.

  • MYMalaysiaRestricted

    No local licence. Pionex is on the Securities Commission Malaysia Investor Alert List (reported January 2023; listed as at 12 January 2026) for unlicensed activity.

  • PKPakistanAvailable

    No local licence; served by Marketa Trading Inc.

  • BDBangladeshAvailable

    No local licence; served by Marketa Trading Inc. Bangladesh Bank does not recognise crypto trading.

  • KZKazakhstanAvailable

    No local licence; no AIFC authorisation found.

  • UZUzbekistanAvailable

    No local licence; served by Marketa Trading Inc.

  • NGNigeriaAvailable

    No local licence; no Nigerian SEC registration found.

  • GBUnited KingdomUnavailable

    United Kingdom is on the Pionex restricted-jurisdictions list.

  • USUnited StatesRestricted

    pionex.com is closed to US persons. A separate US app is run by Pionex Inc. (NMLS 2284360) under state money-transmitter licences; May 2025 consent order with four states.

  • EUEuropean UnionRestricted

    EU users are served by Pionew Ireland Limited (Webot brand), a MiCA-authorised CASP of the Central Bank of Ireland (passported to France from December 2025). pionex.com lists France, Spain and the Netherlands as restricted.

Presence by country

  • AEUnited Arab EmiratesNot on restricted list; no VARA, ADGM FSRA or SCA authorisation found.Available
  • SASaudi ArabiaNot on restricted list; no local licence.Available
  • TRTürkiyeNot on restricted list; no Capital Markets Board (SPK) authorisation found.Available
  • IDIndonesiaNot on restricted list; no OJK registration found.Available
  • MYMalaysiaOn Securities Commission Malaysia Investor Alert List (January 2023, January 2026); not an SC-registered exchange.Restricted
  • PKPakistanNot on restricted list; no local licence.Available
  • NGNigeriaNot on restricted list; no Nigerian SEC registration found.Available
  • EGEgyptNot on restricted list; no local licence.Available

Reliability in detail

Overall 4.0 of 10

  • Proof of reserves

    5.0

    Merkle-tree proof of reserves with an open-source verifier on GitHub. An agreed-upon-procedures review by Elite Partners and Moore reportedly found over 100 % coverage of BTC, ETH, USD and stablecoins; report date and scope could not be read. No regular monthly attestation found as of September 2026.

  • Licences

    5.0

    Pionex Inc.: US state money-transmitter licences, NMLS 2284360 (separate US app). Pionew Ireland Limited: MiCA CASP, Central Bank of Ireland (EU, Webot brand). The global operator Marketa Trading Inc. holds no licence found in the markets it serves; SC Malaysia and AMF France have issued warnings.

  • Incident history

    6.0

    No confirmed hack with unreimbursed customer losses found. Regulatory actions: SC Malaysia Investor Alert List (January 2023, January 2026), AMF France blacklist of pionex.com (10 April 2025), and a May 2025 consent order of four US states with Pionex Inc. (Funds Transfer Rule, recordkeeping, information security, earlier unlicensed transmission; $20,000 penalty).

  • Segregation of funds

    1.0

    The global terms of service do not claim segregation of client assets and state the operator is not responsible for losses at external custody providers. No independent confirmation of segregation found.

  • Insurance fund

    0.0

    No insurance or user protection fund disclosed.

  • Security practices

    4.0

    2FA (authenticator app, SMS or email) and a 72-hour withdrawal lock after 2FA changes. Cold-storage share and external security audits (SOC 2, ISO 27001) not disclosed.

Fees

Spot trading, deposits and withdrawals

Spot trading

0.05% maker · 0.05% taker

Flat 0.05 % spot fee for makers and takers without a token discount; VIP tiers go down to 0.01 % maker. Bots use the same spot fee.

Deposits

Crypto deposits are free. Direct fiat deposit options are limited; most users fund with crypto.

Withdrawals

Crypto withdrawals carry only the network fee shown before confirmation. A 72-hour withdrawal lock applies after changing 2FA settings.

Halal coins you can buy on Pionex

Coins with a halal verdict listed on this exchange

Similar exchanges

Other large exchanges from our coverage