This section is not ready yet — it arrives in stage 4.

This section is not ready yet — it arrives in stage 4.

Language

Gate

Centralized exchange
gate.comOrdinary link, no referral fee
Spot fee
0.1%
Coins with a halal verdict
3
of those listed here
Available in
0 of 8
countries we track
Checked
Sep 27, 2026

Reliability

5.9/ 10

Score updated

  • Proof of reserves5.5
  • Licences8.0
  • Incident history8.0
  • Segregation of funds2.0
  • Insurance fund5.0
  • Security practices5.0

Liberandum halal verdict

Suitable with care

Not suitableSuitable

Gate offers spot trading with immediate settlement, which can be used in a Shariah-compliant way, but it has no Shariah-certified product and no Shariah screening of its large token catalogue. Use spot only, avoid margin, futures, options, leveraged ETFs and fixed-yield Earn, and check every coin on Liberandum first. Several Muslim-majority markets, including the UAE, Malaysia, Indonesia and Pakistan, are on the global platform's restricted list.

Use

  • Spot trading, coin by coin

Avoid

  • Margin, futures, options
  • Earn, HODL & Earn, lending
More details

Spot trading on Gate settles immediately: the buyer receives the coin and the seller the price in the same transaction, which matches the AAOIFI requirement of immediate delivery in currency and asset exchange (Shariah Standard No. 1) and the rules on the sale of commodities in organized markets (Shariah Standard No. 20). Gate also offers margin trading, perpetual and delivery futures, options, leveraged ETF tokens, copy trading of derivatives and Earn products with fixed or variable yield from lending. Margin and lending involve interest (riba), and futures, options and leveraged tokens involve deferred settlement and excessive uncertainty (gharar), so a Muslim investor should not use them. Gate has no Islamic account and no Shariah-certified product, and it does not screen listed tokens for Shariah compliance; its very large catalogue includes many coins that fail screening (lending tokens, gambling, meme coins), so each coin must be checked separately. Reliability is moderate (5.9/10). Gate publishes proof of reserves with a Merkle tree and zk-SNARKs (115% total ratio, $8.18 billion, in June 2026); the system was audited by Hacken in January 2024, but the reports themselves are self-published without a current third-party attestation. The group holds licences through separate entities (MiCA in Malta, VARA in Dubai, FSA in Japan, US money transmitter licences via Gate US). The global User Agreement does not state that client assets are segregated. Gate says it keeps a SAFU fund of over $100 million, without published addresses. No major confirmed hack of Gate in the last five years was found. Availability: the global User Agreement restricts the US, UK, Canada, several EU states, the UAE, Malaysia, Indonesia, Pakistan and Uzbekistan, among others, and says the list is not exhaustive; users in those places must use a local Gate entity where one exists (Gate Dubai, Gate Europe in Malta, Gate US) or another exchange.

How to use Gate the halal way

What is allowed and what to avoid on this exchange

  • Allowed

    Spot

    Immediate settlement; screen each coin

  • Allowed

    Convert

    Instant swap, settles like spot

  • With care

    Staking

    No Shariah-certified staking

  • Avoid

    Savings and Earn

    Earn, Simple Earn, HODL pay interest

  • Avoid

    Margin

    Trading with borrowed money

  • Avoid

    Futures and options

    Futures, options, leveraged ETF tokens

  • Avoid

    Loans

    Lending products pay interest, avoid

  • Avoid

    Structured products

    Fixed return, not certified

No dedicated halal product

As of September 2026 Gate offers no Islamic (swap-free) account and no Shariah-certified Earn or staking product. No Shariah board or certification by a Shariah advisory firm was found in Gate's announcements or licensing documents.

No token screening

Gate does not screen listed tokens for Shariah compliance. Its listing review covers project, legal and market risks, not Islamic finance criteria, so every coin must be checked on Liberandum before buying.

Step by step

How to trade halal on Gate

  1. Open an account and pass KYC

    Register on the Gate site for your country (the global site, or the local Gate entity if your country is on the restricted list, such as Gate Dubai for the UAE) and complete identity verification in the Account section.

  2. Fund the account without interest

    Deposit crypto from another wallet or buy through the Buy Crypto menu (P2P, card or bank transfer where offered). Keep the money in your Spot account; do not move it into Earn, Simple Earn, HODL & Earn or lending products that pay interest.

  3. Check each coin on Liberandum

    Gate lists a very large catalogue without any Shariah screening. Before buying, check the coin's halal status on Liberandum and skip lending, gambling, interest-based and meme tokens.

  4. Trade only on Spot

    Use Trade > Spot with market or limit orders, where the coin is delivered immediately. Do not use Margin, Futures, Options, Leveraged ETF tokens, Copy Trading of futures or futures trading bots.

  5. Withdraw to self-custody

    After buying, withdraw coins you plan to hold to your own wallet via Wallet > Withdraw, and enable 2FA and a withdrawal whitelist for the remaining balance.

Availability

Where Gate serves users and under which licence

Choose your country

Choose your country to see availability

  • AEUnited Arab EmiratesRestricted

    UAE is on the global platform's restricted list; UAE residents are served by Gate Technology FZE under a VARA VASP licence (VL/25/04/007, April 2025).

  • IDIndonesiaUnavailable

    Indonesia is on Gate's restricted list; no local licence.

  • MYMalaysiaUnavailable

    Malaysia is on Gate's restricted list; no local licence.

  • PKPakistanUnavailable

    Pakistan is on the restricted list in Gate's User Agreement; no local licence.

  • UZUzbekistanUnavailable

    Uzbekistan is on Gate's restricted list; no local licence.

  • GBUnited KingdomUnavailable

    The UK is on the restricted list in Gate's User Agreement; no FCA registration was found.

  • USUnited StatesRestricted

    The US is on the global platform's restricted list; Gate US, Inc. (NMLS 2272810) holds 36 state money transmitter licences, excluding NY, TX, WA, LA, AK and the US Virgin Islands.

  • EUEuropean UnionRestricted

    Gate Technology Ltd (Gate Europe) received a MiCA CASP authorisation from the Malta FSA in October 2025 and started passporting in the EEA; the global site restricts France, Germany, Spain, the Netherlands, Austria and Malta.

Presence by country

  • AEUnited Arab EmiratesGate Technology FZE holds a VARA VASP licence (VL/25/04/007, April 2025); the global site restricts UAE users.Licensed
  • IDIndonesiaOn Gate's restricted list.Unavailable
  • MYMalaysiaOn Gate's restricted list.Unavailable
  • PKPakistanOn the restricted list in Gate's User Agreement.Unavailable
  • UZUzbekistanOn Gate's restricted list.Unavailable

Reliability in detail

Overall 5.9 of 10

  • Proof of reserves

    5.5

    Gate publishes proof of reserves with a Merkle tree and zk-SNARKs; the implementation was audited by Hacken (January 2024). The June 2026 report shows a 115% total ratio ($8.18 billion, nearly 500 assets), with USDT at about 101%. Reports are self-published, with no current third-party attestation; the reporting schedule is not stated.

  • Licences

    8.0

    Separate group entities hold a MiCA CASP authorisation (Malta FSA, October 2025), a VARA VASP licence in Dubai (VL/25/04/007, April 2025), Japan FSA registration, 36 US state money transmitter licences via Gate US (NMLS 2272810), AUSTRAC registration and a CySEC licence (395/20). These entities serve their local markets, not the global platform.

  • Incident history

    8.0

    No major confirmed hack or withdrawal freeze of Gate in the last five years and no regulator sanction for misuse of client funds were found in primary or reputable sources; scored below 10 because this could not be positively confirmed.

  • Segregation of funds

    2.0

    The global User Agreement contains no statement that client assets are segregated from Gate's own. The Malta entity must segregate client assets under MiCA, but no confirmation of segregation for the global platform was found.

  • Insurance fund

    5.0

    Gate says it keeps a user asset security fund (SAFU) valued at over $100 million in 2026; no wallet addresses or regular reports on the fund were found. Reserves above 100% in proof-of-reserves reports add a further buffer.

  • Security practices

    5.0

    Gate says it keeps the majority of user funds in cold wallets and uses hot wallets for day-to-day withdrawals; 2FA and withdrawal whitelists are offered. The proof-of-reserves system was audited by Hacken, but no current SOC 2 or ISO 27001 certification was confirmed from a primary source.

Fees

Spot trading, deposits and withdrawals

Spot trading

0.1% maker · 0.1% taker

0.1% maker and taker at VIP 0 per Gate (August 2026); some reviews cite 0.2%, and live rates need login. Paying fees in GT gives a discount; VIP tiers lower fees.

Deposits

Crypto deposits are generally free apart from network fees; card and third-party fiat purchases carry provider fees. Exact fiat rails depend on country and were not verified.

Withdrawals

Crypto withdrawal fees are fixed per coin and network and are shown before confirmation; they change with network conditions.

Halal coins you can buy on Gate

Coins with a halal verdict listed on this exchange

Similar exchanges

Other large exchanges from our coverage